Dear Boss, Did you just compliment me?

In response to daily post http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/why-thank-you/(Why, Thank You?:What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?)

Sometimes, people compliment you only to keep you wondering what they actually meant. Who else can give such a compliment and safely escape a retort, if not for a manager.

One such instance was when I won a charity running race held at my office on a working day. I just came from the race and was proudly showing my trophy to my colleagues. My manager, who sits just a few cubicles away from me, heard about this and came to my desk.

 He said “ Congratulations..! Lucky you. I’m busy with my work and can’t waste my time in such activities’.

I wondered why he said that, but later discovered that he was searching for me,when I was away at the race, to help him with a task. I’ll come to know if he really appreciates me or if he wants me to always stay at my desk ; my appraisal discussion with him is due next week!!!

3 thoughts on “Dear Boss, Did you just compliment me?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

I'm all ears. Tell me.

