Odd Woman Out

In response to daily prompt http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-dawn/(New Dawn: How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

My eyes were red. Tears started welling up in my eyes due to lack of sleep. It was getting hard for me to concentrate. “Just few more hours and it will done . I shouldn’t give up in this last minute” I thought. With sheer determination, I took a knife from the kitchen cupboard.

………

………

……..

……..

After all, I had to open the cake box we got from bakery.

It was my best friend’s birthday and she was moving to a different country in the next week. So, me and my other friends planned for a big birthday party. All the birthday preparations were going fine until my friends decided that we should cut the cake exactly at 12:00pm. I was the only one , the odd woman out, who was a morning person i.e I usually wake up very early in the morning and get to bed early at night. I cursed the fellow who ever invented the tradition of celebrating birthday parties at the stroke of midnight. I bet he/she was a nocturnal person.

Here was a birthday party which I can never miss and there I was with my sleepy eyes trying hard to stay awake..!!Finally I kept my own resolution, my friend was so happy to see me at that party and the happiness I saw in her eyes was worth sacrificing my sleep. 🙂

One thought on “Odd Woman Out

I'm all ears. Tell me.

