“Who am I? ” – A bookworm’s introspection

“You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” said Jim Rohn, the famous American entrepreneur, author and motivational speaker.  Ever since I read this quote, I wanted to find out who I really was and so I started observing who I spend my most time with.

Well, I’m an introvert (I am able to say that proudly after I read the book “Quiet : The power of Introverts in a world that can’t stop talking” by Susan cain :-)) . I love cuddling cozily in a nice warm place and reading a book which will transport me into a dreamland. I can spend hours in solitude reading books and sipping hot tea. I wonder that if I had no other responsibilities, I could have easily spent the rest of my life like that 😛 But as you know that is not possible practically.

So, I started reading whenever I got time. Initially, I used to read lot of Nonfiction books starting with the classic self help books such as “How to win friends and influence people” “Think and grow rich”  to the latest self help/management books such as “David and Goliath” by Malcolm Gladwell, ”Purple cow” by Seth godin, ”Thrive” by Arianna Huffington. Result is, my life soon turned into nonfiction. I used to read such books and then tried to follow them. Though I got enough wisdom to write a self help book, I found myself turning into a more serious person. Somehow, I wanted to chill out, relax a bit and get away from being so serious all the time.

That’s when I started searching for books which were both intriguing and fun and that led me to mystery novels . I read all the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. Following the foot steps of the great detective, I started observing the trivial details at home. That’s when I solved “the mystery of missing chocolates” ( Found out that my kid at them when  I was lost in the world of books) , and “the conspiracy of my husband ” (Alas, he was just trying to throw a surprise party for my birthday 😦 ).. Solving the mysteries about people around me especially when they wanted to surprise me, made me feel guilty and lose the fun in life. Having no other opportunity to solve any real crime mysteries, I directed my reading habit towards less harmful, more pleasant reads such as poetry. I have started reading some of the best American poems and am waiting to see their impact on me.

However, I couldn’t stop reading nonfiction or mystery novels entirely. So, my ideal day with my books is something like Breakfast with Malcolm Gladwell, Lunch with Sherlock Holmes, Dinner with Robert Frost.

If the quote “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with” is accurate, then I would be the average of the (1) nonfiction writer Malcom gladwell,  (2) Detective Sherlock Holmes, (3) poet Robert Frost and (4) my responsible husband and (5) my naughty kid . 🙂

PS: This is in response to daily prompt http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-great-divide/

6 thoughts on ““Who am I? ” – A bookworm’s introspection

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – The Great Divide | RobertMcQ

  2. Pingback: Get Your Read On | A.C. Melody

  3. This was wonderful to read and to see how what you read influences you. Too much of any one thing isn’t good. I lean more towards fiction but when I get tired of that I switch to nonfiction, usually in the form of magazine articles because they’re quicker to get through but I like nonfiction books as well.

I'm all ears. Tell me.

