Old MacDonald had a farm, Ee i ee i oh!

“Old MacDonald had a farm, Ee i ee i oh!

And on that farm he had some ducks with a quack quack here, and a quack quack there, ..”

Do you remember this song? Don’t rack your brain if you can’t. Read on to find what it is.

People often say that kids change our world. I used to dismiss those words as exaggeration. After all, most of us have become so practical and independent that we don’t want anyone , not even parents, friends, or even spouse, to dictate our life. Then how else can a tiny little kiddo who can barely speak affect a grownup?

I have to admit that I was wrong and I realized this as soon as my daughter was born. Those words that ‘kids impact our life’ are true to the core. From the day she is born, every thought ,every decision involved her in one way or the other. Here’s are snippets of conversation going on in my mind , before I did anything..

“Shall I go out for shopping now ? No, it’s nap time for her.. She may feel cranky if I take her out”

“Should I wear that purple dress with the rich embroidery work for the party? “ ..May be not. The embroidery may be too harsh on my baby’s skin. She may feel uncomfortable”

“Should I have breakfast now? May be later. I will have to first  prepare baby’s food”.

The list goes on and on. Starting from my preferences about breakfast, shopping, dressing  to major decisions like working or staying at home were all impacted by her.

My bedroom color changed to pink. Wall frames of beautiful sceneries’ are now replaced by Poo, Disney Princess posters. My refrigerator which was earlier filled with restaurant take outs and frozen foods, is now filled with fresh fruits, vegetables, and of course, chocolate milk.

Earlier, I was a great fan of bollywood music (Indian songs), but now, I don’t even get a chance to play them. The only songs that my daughter has permitted me to listen are the “Ryhmes”.   So, I can no longer remember my favorite songs except the preschool rhymes and no wonder, the song that is currently humming in my mind is “Old Mc Donald had a farm..” ..

PS: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/by-heart/

I'm all ears. Tell me.

