You can only connect the dots looking backwards.

sea-758165_1280

Today morning, I was feeling awful. I didn’t want to get up from the bed. I hate those days when I don’t have a specific plan for the day. Lately, my life has been going  through a series of changes and nothing is happening as I had planned.

On such days when I feel confused about whether my life is going in the correct direction or not, I do two things: reading & writing

1.Reading :

We all know that we should be calm and approach life with a positive attitude. But once in a while, we need someone to tell us that everything is going to be fine.

Today when I was searching for such reassurance, I found a great post by Iva Beranek.This is the first time I came across her blog and I was surprised to see how her post was just the right one to comfort me.

In her latest post ‘Perhaps there is a pearl ..’  she writes that even if we don’t completely understand what’s going on in our life now, there might be a blessing, a pearl as she calls it, hidden for us, Now, that’s exactly what I needed.

Here is the link to her post:

https://ivaberanek.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/perhaps-there-is-a-pearl/

After reading that post, I was reminded of Steve Job’s quote:

You can’t connect the dots looking forward you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something: your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. Because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart, even when it leads you off the well-worn path.

I read this quote several times before, but when I re-read it in my troubled times, I get the confidence to face the day ahead.

Today, the post by Iva Beranek and Steve Job’s quote soothed my troubled mind.

2.  Writing :

When I feel stressed, I not only read inspirational posts, I write them. Writing, for me, is a way of committing the information into my mind. Writing helps me to share the information that I learnt in turbulent times.  Therefore, here I am, posting my learning.

Therefore, here I am, posting my learning:

Don’t worry! Everything happens for a reason. You can only connect the dots looking backwards.

8 thoughts on “You can only connect the dots looking backwards.

I'm all ears. Tell me.

