Two plus two equals four? No.

lightbulb-804976_1280

Are you tired of following the same schedule day after day: doing the same chores, driving the same route and doing the same work at the  office?  Are you bored of leading a monotonous life? Are you reminded of ‘Groundhog Day’ movie?

Here is a simple solution to spice up your day: Think new.

When my days seem like a boring routine, I deliberately try to change my way of thinking and get a different perspective.

Yesterday, when I saw the weird writing prompt “Two plus two equals four: Yes or No?”, I wanted to think about all situations when the answer is ‘No’. Here are few of them:

  1. When I asked my 5-year-old daughter, what is 2+2, she said it’s twenty-two!
  2. There are 2 mothers and 2 daughters in my house. It doesn’t mean 4 people. There are only 3 people at my home. It’s my mom, me, and my daughter!
  3. Yesterday was Father’s day. Many museums and parks advertised “Dads FREE with paid child admission.” If it is a family of 4, then, they would have paid for 3, not 4 since there was a free admission for dad.
  4. 2 cups of milk + 2 spoons of sugar are not going to give me 4 cups of sweetened milk.

The above example is trivial, but it just shows us the extent with which we can approach the same old question.

Try something new or do the same work in a new way. I bet, you are going to feel lively!

For now, I’m going to try a new recipe for my breakfast. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Two plus two equals four? No.

  1. I agree with you. There’s no need to be bored in a daily routine when we have so many possibilities to make our lives more lively and entertaining! 🙂

    I hope the new recipe was a success.

  2. Love 2 and 4! Quite clever! Fun to see you are a Toastmaster….such a great organization. Great way to gain confidence speaking in front of and with people. Great way, as the saying goes, to learn to “lean in.”
    Where in India are you from? My career took me to India several times — and I love the country. I’ve been to Hyderabad, Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi….hmmmm I think that’s it. I especially enjoyed the park with the memorial to Ghandi. Nice to visit your blog — stop by and meander a bit on mine if the spirit moves you 🙂

      • Not in Toastmasters — but taught communications for many years before becoming a dean…and still teach presentation workshops to graduate students once per year at Suffolk University, here in Boston. Ah….I am certain Hyderabad has grown and has many more tall and modern buildings since I was there. So nice to meet you!

  3. I enjoyed your take on the daily prompt. I chose the same one and looked at it from a different perspective but your take on it was fun and lighthearted. It is true that 2+2 doesn’t always equal 4. It is a good reminder that in life everything is not always as it seems to be.

I'm all ears. Tell me.

