‘Bound By Life’ : An emotional read

bound_by_life

On a rainy day, when I was craving for an emotional read, I came across Arpita Pramanick’s ‘Bound by life’. It’s subtitle ‘Short stories from India’ attracted me because I am an Indian and I wanted to see how the author portrayed our country. When I started reading that book, I just couldn’t put it down.

The book is a collection of 10 simple, heart-warming stories which linger with you even after you close the book. In this book, the flavors of India are handpicked and woven into tales that engage you thoroughly. The stories aptly reflect various aspects of India: the bond between the family members, the taboos in the society, the generation gap, and women empowerment. The narration is simple, straightforward and brilliant. What I loved most is that the protagonist in each story comes out as a strong, independent person leaving the reader a subtle message. Though the stories are based on everyday situations in India, a powerful ending to each story makes it a compelling read. Ordinary stories with extraordinary endings ; that’s what makes this book special.

Here is a glimpse of my personal favorites in this book:

  1.  ‘The silent victim’ depicts a troubled college girl who has a history of childhood abuse.
  2.  ‘I am Mala’ is the story of a rural woman who takes her revenge on the guy who betrayed her.
  3. In ‘A Mother’s plight’, I felt as if I was reading the story about me and Mom. It is the agony faced by a Mom when her kids leave home to study in a city far away.

Overall, I loved all the stories and it is a book which I will recommend to my friends.

Although this is the author’s debut book, the storyline, narration and the transitions look so mature and elegant.  I wish Arpita a grand success with her book and a bright future in her writing journey.

You can purchase the book at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00X6VG3B0/

You can know more about Arpita at

https://arpitaapramanick.wordpress.com/

One thought on “‘Bound By Life’ : An emotional read

  1. Reblogged this on Scribbles@Arpita and commented:
    Hiya folks! Just received the first blog review of my book, Bound by Life. And is that nice! Thank you so much, Jahnavi for your kindest words.

    Please check out Jahnavi’s blog, I really enjoy reading her posts. Thank you! 🙂

I'm all ears. Tell me.

