My 5-year-old daughter’s detective story!

Wouldn’t it be good if your dreams come true?

Wouldn’t it be awesome if your child achieves your dreams even before you do?

I love writing and so I started this blog to write daily.  While I am struggling to write some nice blogs, my 5-year-old daughter already wrote a detective story!

photo 1 (1)

This is how it started.

I love Sherlock Holmes detective stories and read the series several times. Luckily, my passion for reading and my interest in detective stories passed on to my daughter.

In the past few months, I have been reading to my daughter a series of children’s detective stories “Nate The great” written by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat. My daughter loved these books so much that we read all the books in the series.

Few days back, there was a creative writing workshop for kids at the local library. The workshop encouraged children to come up with stories and present them to the group. Though the event was aimed for kids aged 6 years and above, I wanted my daughter to participate in that. I hoped that at least she would learn to sit through the entire one hour even if she wouldn’t contribute anything. I left my daughter at the event in the library meeting room and went to browse the books in the library.

After one hour when I returned to the meeting room to pick up my daughter, I was pleasantly surprised. It seems my daughter told a detective story to the library assistant who in turn wrote it down in a book for her(My daughter still doesn’t know how to write down the sentences.).

Title of the story is “The case of the missing person”

Here is the story :

“One very dark stormy night, a person had gone missing. It was a Mom. We need detective Yashu the Great. First we need to look for clues. She found one clue: Mom’s hair. Then she went outside to look for big clues. She looked very hard and she found another clue in the Mom’s kitchen. The soup was spilled all over the floor. She looked up and found the most important clue: a reminder to go to the doctor’s office. Detective Yashu went to the doctor’s office and found the Mom. Detective solves her case again!”

I was amazed at my sweet little’s girl creativity. Yashu is my daughter’s name. She saw herself as the detective like ‘Nate the great’. Recently I had a hair loss problem, few days ago I had spilled soup on the floor and I had an upcoming doctor’s appointment which I had written in a post-it note and stuck on the refrigerator door. I was astonished how my sweetie had grasped these insignificant incidents in our daily life and made a story out of them. I’m so proud of my daughter and I will cherish her detective story forever. After all, I am the missing person in that story:-P

P.S: This blog is written for the ‘Cherished blog fest’ hosted by Dan Antion, Damyanti Biswas, Paul Ruddock, Peter Nena, Sharukh Bamboat.

Cherished Blogfest

Cherished Blogfest is for 2 more days. Participate in it, meet fellow bloggers and have fun.

19 thoughts on “My 5-year-old daughter’s detective story!

  1. Thankyou for participating in the Cherished Blogfest. What a joy your daughter is, and I can completely understand why you would cherish that story forever.

I'm all ears. Tell me.

