Read differently, think differently!

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

Did you come across this quote before? This quote always intrigues me and holds a special meaning to me.

Whenever I visit the library, I see rows and rows of books  by James Patterson, David Baldacci, Sue Grafton, Debbie Macomber, to name a few. Somehow, I am not attracted to romance, mystery and thriller novels.  I used to read only Non fiction books. However from the past few months, when I started reading Classics like Animal Farm, Of Men and Mice, The Great Gatsby, To kill a Mocking bird, Short stories by O.Henry, I discovered a whole new world of stories which touched my heart .  I love the Classics because the narration, the style, the depth of the stories are far superior compared to the novels published these days. Sometimes, I wonder if I am old fashioned; relishing books from the past.

But then I am reminded of the beautiful quote “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” May be the books I read are making me to think differently!

What do you think about the quote?

6 thoughts on “Read differently, think differently!

  1. Great Gatsby – a true classic. Your quote is interesting. I think people can have different thoughts and opinions even if they read the same thing. Just my 2 cents. 🙂

  2. Great quote, it’s one of my favorites as well. I have a strong belief in balance and being an overall well rounded person. Reading only one kind of book or certain kinds of books limits your perspective. Whereas diversifying our bookshelves exposes us to a wide range of material and broadens our way of thought and how we look at the world.

  3. Great quote. It’s also very true for reading posts and articles online, and being part of networks like Twitter where we’re all fed the same links and “must-reads” each day.

    Thanks for responding to this assignment!

I'm all ears. Tell me.

