Do you write or do you wait?

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”
Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Every time I wait for inspiration to write, I am reminded of the above quote.

Generally,

I wait for inspiration to strike me.

I wait for interesting events to happen to me.

I wait for intellectual thoughts to awaken me.

I wait for poetic words to flow effortlessly.

I wait for my daughter to leave for school

And my husband to his worK

I wait till my cooking is done

I wait till there is no other interesting program on Television.

I wait till my tummy is full with delicious food.

I wait till I have a cup of coffee to boost my spirit.

I wait for the daily prompt to give me a fantastic prompt,

I wait for a blogging event to give a nudge to my laziness

I wait for my fellow bloggers to read my posts.

As I wait throughout the day for the perfect moment to write my blog,

it’s already time to hit the bed.

I sadly say to myself “Oh! It’s not my day. Maybe tonight I will get the perfect writing prompt in my dream.”

I'm all ears. Tell me.

