Will you write more if you have extra time?

In Writing 101 course , I have an interesting question today:

“If you could step into a machine that gave you more time, how would you structure your day? What would you write with this extra time?”

One year back, if you had asked me this question, I would have told you that “Yes.  I would definitely write more”. At that point of my life,  I was working full time, taking care of my kid, commuting to office in a bus and had barely an hour to write everyday. My commuting time was my thinking time. I thought of topics I would write and came up with titles and content during that time. While I was working at office or struggling to manage my time throughout the day,  I thought of information that I could share through my writing. I used to write about managing time, handling stress, staying positive and being happy through out the day,

Now when I am full time home maker and have more free time, I have trouble coming up with topics to write. My mind seems to be blank and I can’t think of anything to write about. Now I feel that experience matters most. I do something, I get experience and then I share my finding through my blogs. I mostly write non-fiction and I think exposing myself to varied experiences will broaden my horizons,sharpen my thinking and provide ideas to my writing. So, for me, extra time would go toward developing new hobbies or doing some interesting activities rather than spending entire time in front of the computer searching for words.

I would like to reiterate the quote mentioned in Writing 101 prompt :

Being active every day makes it easier to hear that inner voice.

— Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

What is your opinion? I would love to hear from you

One thought on “Will you write more if you have extra time?

  1. I think I would use the free time split across several of my hobbies as well! Painting, sewing, knitting, candy making, baking, etc. I think as long as I am creating SOMETHING I can feel satisfied!

I'm all ears. Tell me.

