Memorable quotes from ‘Norwegian Wood’

11297

Recently I read the book ‘Norwegian Wood’ written by Japanese author Haruki Murakami. It is a nostalgic story about love, loss and sexuality.  It is a first person narration of the Protagonist Toru Watanabe, a college student, who reflects on his love for  beautiful yet emotionally troubled girl Naoko. While Toru yearns for Naoko who stays miles away from him in a rehabilitation center , he meets a lively, outgoing, Midori who falls in love with him. This novel written in 1987 was quite popular in Japan and it was later adapted into a movie.

Though this is a romantic novel, a genre which I generally don’t read, I was attracted to the several beautifully crafted lines which stayed in my mind after reading the novel.

To treasure the lines which I loved in this novel, I am listing them below :

  1. “Which is why I am writing this book. To think. To understand. It just happens to be the way I’m made. I have to write things down to feel I fully comprehend them.”
  2. “Nobody likes being alone that much. I don’t go out of my way to make friends, that’s all. It just leads to disappointment. ”
  3. “Don’t feel sorry for yourself. Only assholes do that.”
  4. “Not that we were incompatible: we just had nothing to talk about.”
  5. “It’s because of you when I’m in bed in the morning that I can wind my spring and tell myself I have to live another good day.”
  6. “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
  7. “It was as if I were writing letters to hold together the pieces of my crumbling life.”
  8. “When your feelings build up and harden and die inside, then you’re in big trouble.”
  9. “Our faces were no more than ten inches apart but she was light years away from me.”
  10. “Death exists, not as the opposite but as a part of life.”

Apart from several such intriguing snippets, I didn’t really enjoy the story line . But it was worth reading the book to appreciate these priceless quotes.

5 thoughts on “Memorable quotes from ‘Norwegian Wood’

  1. Thanks for the quotes! I particularly liked number six. I’m about to read my first Haruki Murakami novel Kafka on the Shore so it was fun to read a review on him.

I'm all ears. Tell me.

