My 2015 Blogging Lessons

home-office-336378_1920The year has come to an end, already? I  Can’t believe this! As I look back on my blogging journey this year, I learned a lot and here they are:

 

  1. Don’t restrict the type of content in the blog.

 

Initially, I started this blog to write only non-fiction inspirational posts. After a few posts, I found my content getting monotonous and I was not sure what to do. Then, I started writing posts based on daily prompts. In this process, I realized I still can write an uplifting post just by giving a positive ending to the story. There after I started participating in various blogging events such as Blogging 101,Writing 101 poetry, Flash Fiction for aspiring writers. Each one of them gave me a chance to think differently while maintaining the positivity in my blog.

 

  1. Read others blogs and give genuine comments.

 

My mom used to tell me “Don’t visit neighbor’s house unless you are invited”.

I followed that advice rather seriously. Even when I started blogging, I didn’t visit any other blogs and waited for someone to read my posts. I was so naïve. Later, during Blogging101 course, when I understood how this blogging world works, I started reading others posts, liked and commented on posts which I really liked and therefore , got exposure to other writings. Here is a gist of my learning.

running-573762_1280

 

  1. Read varied genres of books to broaden your thoughts.

Till one year back, I used to read only non-fiction self-help books/ management books. They were good but they limited my thought process. Later, as I started reading various fiction books (Classics like ‘Animal Farm’ ,’ Fahrenheit 451’,’Short stories by O.Henry’ and mysteries like ‘Girl on the train’,’Gone girl’ ), my imagination opened up. My reading influenced my writing.

 

  1. Participate in various blogging events to make new blogger friends.

 

As I started participating in blogging events ,I found it was really fun .It’s wonderful to read how each blogger has a different interpretation of the same prompt (be it  a word or a photo). In this process, I made several blogger friends who encouraged me and motivated me to blog daily. I also got  nominated for two blogger awards : Liebster award and Sunshine blogger awards.

 

  1. Anything can be an inspiration to a blog post.

The following is an awesome quote by a famous poet in my native language.

“Aggipulla ,sabbu billa ,kukka pilla kaavevi kavithakanarham..-sri sri.”

It means ‘ A Match stick, A soap scrap, A puppy  : Anything can be an inspiration to a poem”.

Only recently I realized how true this is. Earlier I thought I can write posts only on some profound matters. But,  I learned that literally anything can prompt a blog post. For example the photo which I had taken at Niagara which showcased my bad photography skills was useful for one of the blog posts. Again, many of my recent posts were based on my musings which I had not planned earlier on converting into  blog posts. So, anything can prompt a blog post as long as I keep my eyes open .

 

I hope I will be learning a lot more as I continue my blogging journey.  Thanks to all of you, readers.  You are motivating me to write by reading my posts, liking them and commenting on them. It’s wonderful to be part of such a friendly community.

 

Merry Christmas and a Happy New year. 🙂

 

 

11 thoughts on “My 2015 Blogging Lessons

  1. good to read this, Jahanvi! this prompted me to think what i learnt this year. And that was to not slog for someone else, especially donkeys who are in corporate world called “boss”.
    just can’t believe it still gets me all worked up even after 2 months! ugh! sorry,i digress!
    Lovely post. and just to let you know you are an inspiration to me… 🙂

    • Thanks a lot for your kind words. And about the “boss”, it’s a universal problem 🙂 There are only few good managers out there, rest of them give a tough time to the team. Anyway, hope this New year will bring a new cheer to your work life 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your findings Jhanvi. They will surely help me and many others in our blogging journeys.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

  3. Well written jahnavi. I must say, you r the lil light,that gave me insight,to save all that i scribbled for years n years in any easy n more authentic way…thanks for inspiring me to put a blog…

I'm all ears. Tell me.

